RIP Mary Brooke

Mary Brooke 1935-2011

My mother has passed away from cancer. It was a long fight and even though she lost, I hope her soul has found peace. My mother and I weren’t close because she didn’t accept me as gay. She always tried to get me to go to church so I could be cured.

Still, I remember my mother for the positive things. The woman who protected me from an abusive father. The woman who reported my 4th grade teacher to police for hitting me. The woman who raised four kids as a single mother after my father left.

Today is a sad day. But it has also brought a lot of smiles. When one goes away, the memories are clensed and we appreciate them for the good they have done.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

